The Best Vegan Candy to Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth
Finding vegan candy is surprisingly easy—these classic treats avoid animal-based ingredients for the perfect snack or indulgence.
New to Vegan Candy? Here’s What to Look For
While vegan versions of recipes are typically on the healthier side—going vegan doesn’t mean you have to sacrifice your sweets! (Check out these homemade vegan dessert recipes.) You just have to know how to navigate the candy aisle:
- Aside from avoiding obvious non-vegan ingredients like eggs and dairy, keep an eye out for other add-ins that incorporate animal products, like gelatin; shellac, which adds a glossy appearance; and carmine, which lends a deep, red color.
- Also, refined cane sugar is often not vegan, though it can be if it’s organic.
- If you’re in doubt, check for a certified vegan seal on the product or reach out to the candy’s manufacturer.
In the meantime, satisfy your sweet tooth with these top-rated vegan ice cream brands.
Wrigley recently removed animal ingredients from Skittles so vegans and vegetarians can enjoy the tangy treat. However, there may still be some non-vegan products on the market, like limited edition flavors, so it’s important to check the label just to be safe. When you’re in the candy aisle be sure to grab these vegan chocolate bars to balance out the fruity sweetness of the Skittles!
The roll of candy tablets is another classic sweet that vegans can happily eat! All Smarties Candy made by the company is vegan, along with being gluten-free, peanut-free and dairy-free.
Good vegan gummy candy can be hard to come by, which is why we’re thrilled that one of our favorites, Sour Patch Kids, is vegan. Want to mix it up? Sour Patch Watermelons are also vegan, if those are more your weakness. Make sure to balance out all of that candy with some yummy vegan meals!
Cute, delicious and easy to eat an entire box in one sitting—Dots are a mainstay in Candyland. Despite their chewy texture, they’re free of gelatin, making them perfect for sleepovers or movie nights.
We love turning Red Vines into straws, and we couldn’t be happier that all flavors of the licorice candy are vegan-friendly.
These sugary sticks were originally intended to be drink mix, but became the Pixy Stix we know and love after kids started eating the powder straight out of the package. Made without any animal products, they’re a perfect vegan candy.